UoN Foundation Board of Trustees Hold their 1st Meeting

UoN Foundation Board of Trustees Members (L-R) Dr, Narenda Raval (Guru), Dr. Vijoo Rattansi, Prof. Stephen Kiama,Prof Julia Ojiambo and Senior Counsel Fredrick Ngatia.

The University of Nairobi Foundation Board of Trustees held their first meeting on Thursday,12th May 2022 at the Fairview hotel. Trustees present were; Dr. (Mrs.) Vijoo Rattansi, the Chancellor, Prof Julia Ojiambo, former Council Chair, Prof Stephen Kiama, the VC, Dr. Narenda Raval (Guru) and Senior Counsel, Mr. Fredrick Ngatia.

Key issues were discussed including the foundation launch which was agreed to be held on 30th June 2022.

The UoN has found it necessary to establish a Foundation to strengthen the contributions of the university to regional and national development today and in the future and support the present and future generation of scholars by responding to resource needs of the university.

The University of Nairobi Foundation was signed by the Cabinet Secretary for Lands, Hon. Faridah Karoney on 31st August 2021, as a Registered Trust Deed with 9 trustees drawn from different sectors of the economy.

The Foundation aims to tap from the philanthropy potential of higher education and Institutionalize sustainability for the UoN.

Other Board of Trustee members include; ICT Cabinet Secretary, Mr. Joe Mucheru, Gender Cabinet Secretary, Prof. Margaret Kobia, Ford Foundation's Mr. Maurice Makoloo and NTSA Chairperson, Mrs. Agnes Odhiambo.


Click here to view photos

Visit UoN Foundation